usability-redesign

In this post, I’ll be displaying some good and bad examples of accessibility and usability on the web. Before that, I’ll start off by listing some ways I could improve my own site.

  • Since my website is used primarily as a blog, but I don’t have an enormous number of posts, I should consider adding links to specific articles at the top of the page (in the navbar) so that people do not have to scroll down and find the article simply by browsing chronologically.
  • Currently, the only thing indicating the purpose of the site is the title “Jack Meyer: INF 335c”. I should add a subtitle or something similar to explain my reasoning for creating this blog.
  • After reviewing some other sites, I now think it is important that my contact information be listed somewhere on the page.

Good Accessibility:

I found the Center for Disease Control (CDC) website to be quite accessible to anybody visiting the website for a number of reasons. When you first load a webpage, it’s important to have as much information available at first glance, without even scrolling around, to save the reader time and confusion.

Bad Accessibility:

An example of bad accessibility that I found was the website www.libertyvan.com. This site details the adventures of a lady and her extravagant vans covered in propaganda.

Good Usability:

I picked Toyota’s website as an example of good usability. My interpretation was that there are many different reasons why someone would be visiting Toyota’s website, but they excel by efficiently directing people to the information they want to see.

Bad Usability:

I found that the PennyJuice website was a terrible experience to navigate. They did a decent job of providing accessibility by allowing the user to select HTML or Flash (although a bit outdated), but the site itself is a nightmare.

Leave a Reply

